Accreditation Council for CME Announces Election of 2022 Officers

  • Marilane Bond, EdD, MEd, MBA, Elected ACCME Chair

  • Steven Craig, MD, Elected ACCME Vice Chair

  • Thomas M. McLoughlin, Jr., MD, Elected ACCME Treasurer

Chicago, IL| December 14, 2021

The Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education (ACCME®) announces that Marilane Bond, EdD, MEd, MBA; Steven Craig, MD; and Thomas McLoughlin, Jr., MD, were elected as the ACCME's 2022 Officers. 

Marilane Bond HeadshotDr. Bond is Associate Dean for Medical Education at Emory University School of Medicine. In this capacity, Dr. Bond oversees all operational activities of education in the medical school which includes the Undergraduate Medical Education (medical students), Graduate Medical Education (residents and fellows), Continuing Medical Education (faculty), and Health Profession Programs (Physical Therapy, Physician Assistants, Anesthesiology Assistants, Genetic Counseling and Medical Imaging). She has been a member of the ACCME Board of Directors since January 2018, has served as its 2020 Treasurer and its 2021 Vice Chair, and now as its 2022 Chair. Dr. Bond is a past President of the Association for Hospital Medical Education (AHME). Dr. Bond is a past President of the AHME. She served as a past member and chair of the Steering Committee for the Group on Residents Affairs (GRA) of the Association of American Medical Colleges (AAMC). She also served as chair of the advisory committee and faculty for the GME Leadership Development Course. She has made presentations at several organizations including the AAMC, GRA, AHME, and the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education. Dr. Bond earned two bachelor’s degrees (BA and BS), an EdD degree in higher education administration, and a Master’s degree in education from Pennsylvania State University. She also received an MBA from the University of Southern California.

Steven Craig HeadshotDr. Craig is a general internist who completed his medical school training at the University of Iowa College of Medicine and his internal medicine residency training at the University of Colorado Health Sciences Center in Denver, CO. He has been involved in internal medicine patient care and medical education in Des Moines, IA since 1983. An Adjunct Clinical Professor in the Department of Medicine, Dr. Craig served as the Assistant Dean at the Des Moines Branch Campus of the University of Iowa Carver College of Medicine from 20062021. He currently directs the Transitional Year Residency Program at UnityPoint Health-Des Moines and teaches internal medicine to residents and medical students at the Des Moines Branch Campus. Dr. Craig is also active in continuing medical education at UnityPoint Health-Des Moines where he has served as Chair of the Continuing Medical Education Committee since 2017. He served as Governor of the Iowa Chapter of the American College of Physicians from 20022006 and in 2014, he was elected a Master in the American College of Physicians. Dr. Craig served as Chair of the Council of Transitional Year Program Directors from 20082012 and served on the Transitional Year Review Committee for the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education from 20132019. Dr. Craig also served as President of the Association for Hospital Medical Education (AHME) in 2013 and re-joined the AHME Board of Directors in 2019. Dr. Craig was elected to membership of the Board of Trustees for the Educational Commission for Foreign Medical Graduates in 2015. In addition to his teaching and administrative duties, Dr. Craig is active in educational research, faculty development, and education across the continuum, in the areas of evidence-based medicine and preventive medicine.

Thomas McLoughlin HeadshotDr. McLoughlin is Chair of the Department of Anesthesiology for Lehigh Valley Health Network. He holds an appointment as Professor of Surgery, Division of Surgical Anesthesiology, at the University of South Florida Morsani College of Medicine. He graduated with a B.A. from Johns Hopkins University and received his M.D. from the Duke University School of Medicine. He completed residency training in anesthesiology at the University of Virginia, where he served as Chief Resident and completed subspecialty training in cardiothoracic anesthesiology. Following training, Dr. McLoughlin entered active duty military service, joining the academic faculty of the Uniformed Services University of the Health Sciences and the clinical faculty of Walter Reed Army Medical Center. While in the Army, he served as the Chief of Cardiothoracic Anesthesiology and Program Director for Anesthesiology Residency Education at Walter Reed. Dr. McLoughlin joined the clinical staff of Lehigh Valley Health Network in 1996, serving as Chief of the Division of Cardiac Anesthesiology and Vice Chair for Education and Research of the Department of Anesthesiology, prior to his appointment as Chair in 2001. From 2001– 2013, Dr. McLoughlin served as an Associate Examiner for the American Board of Anesthesiology (ABA). He was elected as Director of the ABA in 2013.  Dr. McLoughlin has also served as Chair of the Maintenance of Certification Committee and STEEP (social, technological, economic, environmental, and political) Advisory Committee of the ABA.  He currently serves as Treasurer of the ABA and Chair of their Audit Committee, in addition to membership on the Assessment, STEEP, and the Non-Standard Examination Committees.  He is a member of the Review Committee for Anesthesiology of the Accreditation Council for Graduation Medical Education. He has been elected twice by competitive public ballot to the Board of School Directors in Southern Lehigh School District, where he resides and has served in the positions of President, Vice President, and Treasurer for this Board. Dr. McLoughlin lives in Center Valley, PA with his wife, Becky, and has three children, Ryan, Aidan, and Keelin.


Media inquiries

Tamar Hosansky



Other inquiries


The Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education (ACCME®) is a nonprofit organization based in Chicago, responsible for accrediting organizations that offer continuing medical education (CME) and for recognizing state medical societies as accreditors of local CME programs. The ACCME is a cofounder of Joint Accreditation for Interprofessional Continuing Education™. 

The ACCME sets standards for CME that reflect the values of the educator community and aim to accelerate learning, inspire change, and champion improvement in healthcare. These standards ensure that accredited CME is designed to be relevant to clinicians’ needs, evidence-based, evaluated for its effectiveness, and independent of commercial influence. Through participation in accredited CME, clinicians and teams drive improvement in their practice and optimize the care, health, and wellness of their patients. 

Accredited CME facilitates engagement with physicians and healthcare teams where they live, learn, and work. There are approximately 1,700 accredited CME providers within the ACCME System, across the country and internationally, representing a range of organizations including medical schools, hospitals/health systems, government/military agencies, specialty societies, and insurance/managed-care companies. Accredited providers offer about 170,000 activities each year, comprising more than one million hours of instruction and including more than 45 million interactions with physicians and other healthcare professionals. 

For more information, visit You can also follow the ACCME on Twitter, LinkedInInstagram, and Facebook.