Accreditation Council for CME Announces Election of 2019 Officers

Hal B. Jenson, MD, MBA, Elected Chair; Michael Zanolli, MD, Elected Vice Chair; Gary L. Filerman, MHA, PhD, Re-elected Treasurer

Chicago, IL

The Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education (ACCME®) is pleased to announce the election of 2019 officers. Hal B. Jenson, MD, MBA, was elected Chair; Michael Zanolli, MD, was elected Vice Chair; and Gary L. Filerman, MHA, PhD, was re-elected Treasurer of the ACCME at a meeting of its Board of Directors, held July 19 and 20 in Chicago. 

Dr. Jenson is Founding Dean of Western Michigan University Homer Stryker MD School of Medicine. Dr. Jenson’s clinical specialty is pediatric infectious diseases and research area is molecular virology and epidemiology of Epstein-Barr virus. Dr. Jenson completed undergraduate studies at Brigham Young University and his medical degree at George Washington University School of Medicine, followed by pediatric residency at Rainbow Babies and Children’s Hospital at Case Western University, and a fellowship in pediatric infectious diseases and epidemiology at Yale University School of Medicine. He was a Visiting Fellow in Molecular Biology in 1984 at the Ludwig Institute for Cancer Research in Cambridge, United Kingdom; received the Outstanding Young Investigator Award from the Pediatric Infectious Diseases Society in 1990; authored over 250 papers, commentaries, and book chapters; and served as an editor of Nelson Textbook of Pediatrics. In 2003 he graduated with an MBA from the University of Texas at Austin. Dr. Jenson formerly has been Professor of Pediatrics and Microbiology and Chief of Pediatric Infectious Diseases at the University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio; Professor and Chair of the Department of Pediatrics and Director of the Center for Pediatric Research at Eastern Virginia Medical School and Children’s Hospital of The King’s Daughters; Chief Academic Officer at Baystate Medical Center; and Professor of Pediatrics and Dean of the Western Campus of Tufts University School of Medicine. He has been on the Board of Directors, including chair, of the National Resident Matching Program; inaugural chair of the Integrating Quality Committee of the Association of American Medical Colleges; and has served as an examiner for the Baldrige Performance Excellence Program of the National Institute of Standards and Technology. 

Dr. Zanolli practices Medical Dermatology as a member of Heritage Medical Associates in Nashville, TN, and has served as a faculty member at Wake Forest University and Vanderbilt University. Dr. Zanolli has previously served as President of the Tennessee Dermatology Society; served on committees and task forces within the American Academy of Dermatology Association (AADA), including the AADA Congressional Policy Committee; served as Chairman of SkinPAC, the AADA’s federal political action committee; served as President of the Photomedicine Society; and was elected as a fellow to the American Dermatologic Association. In 2004, Dr. Zanolli was appointed to the Tennessee Board of Medical Examiners and was reappointed in 2009 and 2014, serving as President from 2012-2017. Dr. Zanolli also served as President, then as Chair, of the Nashville Academy of Medicine and as a member of the Board of Trustees of the Tennessee Medical Association. He currently serves on the Board of Directors of the Federation of State Medical Boards with his initial election to the position in 2013 and re-election in 2016.  

Dr. Filerman has been involved in global efforts to improve the performance of health services through professionalism in management. His efforts have included leading the Association of University Programs in Health Administration, and founding the Journal of Health Administration Education, the Accrediting Commission on Health Administration Education, and the Health Administration Press. He has served on the boards of the Accrediting Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education, Council of Specialized Accrediting Agencies, and American Council of Education Commission on Educational Credit and Credentials. Dr. Filerman was professor of international health, professor and chairman of the Georgetown Department of Health Systems Administration, and professor and interim chairman of the George Washington Department of Health Services Management and Policy. He has been a consultant to several foundations, the World Bank, International Finance Corporation, Joint Commission International and to universities and ministries in 39 countries. The endowed Filerman Prize is the highest recognition of leadership in health administration education. 

Media Inquiries  

Tamar Hosansky 

Megan Peters Jovic 

Other Inquiries 


The Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education (ACCME®) is a nonprofit organization based in Chicago, responsible for accrediting organizations that offer continuing medical education (CME) and for recognizing state medical societies as accreditors of local CME programs. 

The ACCME sets standards for CME that reflect the values of the educator community and aim to accelerate learning, inspire change, and champion improvement in healthcare. These standards ensure that accredited CME is designed to be relevant to clinicians’ needs, evidence-based, evaluated for its effectiveness, and independent of commercial influence. Through participation in accredited CME, clinicians and teams drive improvement in their practice and optimize the care, health, and wellness of their patients. 

Accredited CME facilitates engagement with physicians and healthcare teams where they live, learn, and work. There are approximately 1,800 accredited CME providers within the ACCME System, across the country and internationally, representing a range of organizations including medical schools, hospitals/health systems, government/military agencies, specialty societies, and insurance/managed-care companies. Accredited providers offer about 163,000 activities each year, comprising more than one million hours of instruction and including more than 28 million interactions with physicians and other healthcare professionals. 

For more information, visit You can also follow the ACCME on Twitter, LinkedIn, Instagram, and Facebook.