The ACCME is grateful for the contributions of its many volunteers to the accreditation process and the maintenance of excellence in the accreditation system.

To show its gratitude, and recognize those volunteers that exhibit exemplary service, ACCME periodically grants the following awards:

The ACCME is only successful in its mission because of its dedicated volunteers (Board members, committee members, surveyors), partners in accreditation (the Recognized Accreditors), and accredited providers. Our annual acknowledgment of volunteers pays special tribute to those volunteers who have demonstrated exemplary and long-term service to the ACCME through our (a) service awards, and (b) recognition for the completion of surveys. 

2023 Completion of Service Awards

Board of Directors

  • Ron Ben-Ari, MD
  • Marilane Bond, EdD, MEd, MBA
  • Steven Craig, MD
  • Brooke Taylor, MPH

Accreditation Review Committee

  • Bruce Brod, MD
  • Katasha Charleston, MPH
  • Apostolos Paul Dallas, MD
  • Robert Kirsner, MD, PhD
  • Sarah Shimer, MPH
  • Mary Strong, MA
  • Loretta Thompson, MBA

Committee for Review and Recognition

  • Ram Sharma, MD

2023 Surveyor Achievement Awards

In 2023, the ACCME volunteer surveyors listed below reached the milestones noted for total number of interviews conducted since becoming surveyors: 

25 Surveys

  • Eileen Bailey, MS, CHCP
  • Bonnie Bixler, MEd
  • Casey D. Harrison, MBA
  • Stephanie Staggs, MHA, CHCP


The Robert Raszkowski, MD, PhD, ACCME Hero Award recognizes volunteers who have provided exemplary and long-term service to the ACCME, through service on the Board, the Accreditation Review Committee, the Committee for Review and Recognition, the Monitoring Committee, and as volunteer surveyors. The award is named for the late Robert Raszkowski, MD, PhD, a long-time, dedicated ACCME volunteer.


Recipients of this award are a distinguished group of volunteers whose contributions exemplify Dr. Raszkowski’s spirit of volunteerism. Their extraordinary commitment and generosity of time and expertise enable the ACCME to fulfill its mission of setting standards for quality medical education and assuring that accredited providers meet those standards.

Jeffrey S. Mallin, MD 
Suzanne Ziemnik, MEd 

Past Recipients

Murray Kopelow, MD, MS (Comm), FRCPC
Michael Romano, MD, MHA

Jerilyn Glass, MD, PhD
Carol S. Havens, MD
Timothy W. Holder, MD
John R. Kues, PhD
Kim Edward LeBlanc, MD, PhD
James Liljestrand, MD, MPH
Sandra Norris, MBA
David Pieper, PhD
Harold J. Sauer, MD
Stephen E. Willis, MD

Alejandro Aparicio, MD
Stuart C. Gilman, MD, MPH
Clifford Gevirtz, MD, MPH
D. Theresa Kanya, MBA

William W. Greaves, MD, MSPH
Karen E. Heiser, PhD

George Mejicano, MD, MS
Ronald Murray, EdD
J. Brian O’Toole, PhD
David Swee, MD

Stephen S. Biddle, MEd
Marcia J. Jackson, PhD
Jack Dolcourt, MD, MEd

Errol Alden, MD
Richard Ashby, MD
Jann Torrance Balmer, RN, PhD
Barbara E. Barnes, MD
Arnold J. Berry, MD, MPH
Dean R. Bordeaux, MD, MAEd
Stanley M. Bugaieski, MD
Linda Casebeer, PhD
Ellen M. Cosgrove, MD
Howard Dworkin, MD
Melvin Freeman, MD
Harry A. Gallis, MD
Jerry Hammon, MD
James E. Hartfield, MD
Marten O. Hotvedt, PhD
John Jurica, MD, MPH
Robert E. Kristofco, MSW
Brian W. Little, MD, PhD
J. David Marler, Jr., PhD
Albert May, MD
Howard McQuarrie, MD
Steven E. Minnick, MD, MBA
Don Moore, PhD
Robert C. Moravec, MD
Elizabeth Murphy, EdD, RN
Donald Pochyly, MD, MSEd
George Porter, MD
Robert Pyatt, MD
Robert C. Rock, MD
Deborah Sutherland, PhD
Patrick Sweeney, MD, PhD
K. M. Tan, MD
Henry Tulgan, MD