Accreditation Council for CME Announces the Recipient of the 2015 Robert Raszkowski, MD, PhD, ACCME Hero Award

ACCME Award Recognizes Michael Romano, MD, MHA, for Volunteerism in Continuing Medical Education

The Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education (ACCME®) proudly presents the 2015 Robert Raszkowski, MD, PhD, ACCME Hero Award to Michael Romano, MD, MHA, Chief Medical Officer for Nebraska Health Network. The award honors Dr. Romano for his leadership in fulfilling the ACCME’s mission to promote standards for quality continuing medical education (CME) that contributes to improving physician performance and patient care.

Dr. Romano was recognized for his service on the ACCME Board of Directors from 2012–2015, and for his six years of service on the Committee for Review and Recognition (CRR), from 2009–2015. The CRR oversees Recognized Accreditors (state or territory medical societies that are recognized by the ACCME as accreditors of intrastate CME providers). Dr. Romano served on the CRR through the transition to Maintenance of Recognition, which increased the quality and efficiency of the recognition process and enables the ACCME and Recognized Accreditors to identify areas for improvement on an ongoing basis. The recognition system is designed to maintain a uniform, national system of CME accreditation, helping to assure physicians, state legislatures, CME providers, and the public that all CME programs within the ACCME System are held to the same high standards.

The Robert Raszkowski, MD, PhD, ACCME Hero Award recognizes volunteers who have provided exemplary and long-term service to the ACCME, through service on the Board of Directors, the Accreditation Review Committee, the Committee for Review and Recognition, and as volunteer surveyors and/or as workshop faculty. The award is named for the late Robert Raszkowski, MD, PhD, a long-time, dedicated ACCME volunteer. The ACCME established this award to reflect, honor, and memorialize the contributions Dr. Raszkowski made during his extraordinary years of volunteerism and his commitment to excellence in CME.

A list of previous Hero Award recipients can be found here.

“It has been an honor and a privilege to be a volunteer with the ACCME over these past six years.  I've had the chance to associate with some incredibly smart, high-quality individuals at every level of the CME enterprise and I am so grateful for the opportunity.”Michael Romano, MD, MHA

“We honor Dr. Romano for his commitment to leadership and volunteerism in CME on the national and state levels. His dedication demonstrates the power of education to drive quality in our medical profession and in healthcare. The ACCME and our community of accreditors, CME providers, and physician learners rely on the generosity, expertise, and engagement of volunteers like Dr. Romano. He is one of our heroes—and we are fortunate to have benefited from his long-term service.”— Graham McMahon, MD, MMSc, President and CEO, ACCME

Media inquiries

Tamar Hosansky

Other inquiries


The Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education (ACCME®) is a nonprofit organization based in Chicago that is responsible for accrediting institutions that offer continuing medical education (CME) through a voluntary, self-regulatory system. The ACCME also has a system for recognizing state medical societies as accreditors for local organizations offering CME.

The ACCME's mission is to identify, develop, and promote standards for quality CME that improves healthcare for patients and their communities. There are approximately 1,900 accredited CME providers within the ACCME System that offer more than 147,000 activities each year, comprising more than one million hours of instruction and including more than 25 million interactions with physicians and other healthcare professionals.

The ACCME's member organizations—which represent the profession of medicine and include physician licensing and credentialing bodies—are the American Board of Medical Specialties, the American Hospital Association, the American Medical Association, the Association of American Medical Colleges, the Association for Hospital Medical Education, the Council of Medical Specialty Societies, and the Federation of State Medical Boards of the US, Inc.

For more information, visit