New Commendation Criteria Resources: Achieves Outcomes

January 26, 2017
Posted by: 
Patty Harrison

We are publishing a series of resources, as part of ACCME®’s efforts to provide education to support implementation of the Menu of Criteria for Accreditation with Commendation, our mechanism for recognizing and celebrating organizations that excel as CME providers. These resources include FAQs, short videos about each new commendation criterion, and examples of compliance.

There are 16 new commendation criteria, divided into five categories. To be eligible for commendation, providers will need to demonstrate compliance with any seven criteria of their choice, from any category—plus one criterion from the Achieves Outcomes category—for a total of eight criteria.

We’ll publish resources about one of the categories each month, beginning with the Achieves Outcomes category (Criteria 36–38), since providers will need to choose to comply with at least one of the outcomes criteria to achieve commendation.

The Achieves Outcomes resources are available here.

We look forward to working together to ensure our CME community’s successful implementation of the new criteria to achieve our shared goal of advancing quality and achieving outcomes in post-graduate medical education.

As a reminder, as with the existing commendation criteria 16-22, compliance with the new commendation criteria will be optional for CME providers and is not required to achieve Accreditation. For more information about the new commendation criteria overall, including a transition timeline, please see the Menu of New Criteria for Accreditation with Commendation page on our website.