ACCME Participates in Coalition for Physician Accountability Meeting

August 28, 2012
Posted by: 
Tamar Hosansky

Members of the ACCME Board of Directors and executive staff participated in a meeting of the Coalition for Physician Accountability held in August in Philadelphia. James F. Burke, MD, Vice-Chair, and Edward J. Susank, Treasurer, ACCME Board of Directors; and Murray Kopelow, MD, ACCME President and Chief Executive, participated in the meeting, which was hosted by the Educational Commission for Foreign Medical Graduates. The Coalition comprises national organizations responsible for physician assessment, accreditation, licensure, and credentialing. Its purpose is to advance the quality and safety of patient care by providing a forum for dialogue among members about ways to enhance physician accountability through continuous improvement of medical education, training, and practice. The ACCME is a charter member. Other charter members include the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education, the American Board of Medical Specialties, the American Osteopathic Association, the Association of American Medical Colleges, the Educational Commission for Foreign Medical Graduates, the Federation of State Medical Boards, the National Board of Medical Examiners, and the National Board of Osteopathic Medical Examiners.